Mongolia Overview

Political system of Mongolia

Political system of Mongolia

Political system of Mongolia

Political system of Mongolia > Mongolia is a parliamentary democratic country, based on universal suffrage. In the early 1990s, Mongolia abolished Socialist system and installed a democratic one, the new Constitution adopted and came into effect on February 12, 1992 and amended 1999, 2001. The democratic revolution transformed Mongolia from a single party communist state into a multi-party system. However, there have usually been two main political parties 1. Mongolian People’s Party 2. The Democratic Party of Mongolia.

The Mongolian People’s Party:
This Party is the oldest political party in Mongolia founded in 1920. Following independence in 1921, it governed one-party Communist Mongolia. In 1924, the party became the Mongolian People’s Revolutionary Party.

The Demographic Party of Mongolia:
Main opposition party of Mongolian People’s Party is Democratic Party of Mongolia. Those who pioneered the democratic revolution in 1990, founded five political parties and then those parties merged and established the Democratic Party of Mongolia in 2000.

The Parliament

The State Great Khural (Parliament) is the highest legislative power and has one chamber of 76 members and elected for four years. The Parliament has the power to draft legislation, enact and amend laws, approve the annual budget, approve foreign and domestic policies, declare states of emergency and war and ratify international treaties and agreements

The President

The President is second in authority to the 76-member Parliament. The President is elected by national, equal, direct and secret ballot. The president is eligible for re-election once only. The President is also Armed Forces Commander-in-Chief and heads the National Security Council.

The President is empowered by the Constitution to call for dissolution of the Cabinet, initiate legislation and veto all or parts of legislation passed by the Parliament.

The Government

The government is the highest executive body of the state. The government carries out state laws exercising broad powers determined by law. The Cabinet and its ministries are accountable to the Parliamentв the Prime Minister and the Deputy Prime Ministers are nominated by the ruling party and confirmed by the President. They are limited to serving a four-year term. The Prime Minister chooses the members of the Cabinet, subject to the Parliament’s approval.

Back to list